Skip to content

Take care of your body and mind. And teeth.

July 19, 2015

So I’ve been thinking: life is short. Also, cookies are delicious. Also, 80% of your body composition will be determined by your diet [thanks, Mark]. Yes, 80%. Not 50%. Not 20%. Also, I really don’t feel that bad after having eating foods from my sensitivity list, not even the ones I’m supposedly most sensitive to [eggs, tomatoes, gluten, cow’s milk]. Of course, sometimes you don’t get symptoms until after a couple of days.

Even though I sometimes eat gluten, I don’t think I get gluten-rage anymore. I would venture a guess that because I’ve been practicing healthy eating for a few months now my gut is healing… perhaps? And yes, I believe I ‘practice’ healthy eating, just like you practice yoga. It won’t be perfect for a long, long time, or maybe never.

Yesterday we went to a kid’s birthday party where the massive table of food was a vegetarian carb-fest. Platters and platters of sandwiches, biscuits, crisps, cupcakes and a couple of small bowls of strawberries. It took us nearly 2 hours to get there and we were quite hungry, so we ate. I ate. And I didn’t die. Or even feel ill.

But something more significant has happened recently. I went to the dentist who told me my teeth are very translucent for someone my age and I need to watch out for acidic food and drink. So my next mission is to take care of my teeth. Gone is the habit of not drinking water after my meals [for fear of diluting digestive juices]. Drink water. Minimise consumption of fruit [also good for lowering fructose intake – ta-da!]. If eating nuts or seeds, soak them in water first to break up the phytic acid they contain. Drink booze only at the weekend and plenty of water afterwards. Brush teeth no less than 10 minutes after eating [and after a glass of water]. No juice or juice drinks. Fewer roots and starchy veg. Less sugar! Consider brushing teeth with something other than toothpaste such as bicarbonate of soda. Take K2 supplements [I need to remember to look into this].

Have a read of Denise Minger’s article and Wellness Mama’s article about phytic acid.

I’ve also been practicing not worrying so much about what I eat and what the kids eat. We’re doing okay. Honest.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

