Skip to content

It went tits up.

January 18, 2015

My parents came to visit for a long weekend, and I had a feeling I might make a few poor food choices. Chinese takeaway – I was thinking I could ignore the unhealthy oils the food would be fried in, but I kinda forgot about the soy sauce which most likely isn’t gluten-free. Then the Sunday roast – I could not help myself and although I’d ordered gravy on the side, I poured it over anyway, and ate the massive Yorkshire pudding, and decided all was lost and ordered half a pint of beer as well. Why, why did I do this? Why did I not order what I initially wanted and what looked safe, which was a lamb chop with artichokes and mushrooms? [Because it was the most expensive thing on the menu along with the steak, and the outing was all about having a roast]. Why did I not go for my second choice, which was a beefburger? [Because I’d have to order it without the bun or cheese and substitute the chips for salad, and all that makes me look fussy and I don’t want to look fussy].

So, is it all over? Being 100% gluten-free would mean starting over after two weeks. On the other hand, I don’t exactly feel like crap. I did not feel like crap over Christmas either [except for the knowledge that the weight was definitely creeping up].

Also for the last two days I’ve been longing to put milk in my coffee, and maybe sugar. But now that I’ve eaten gluten I should maybe wait a few days before eating dairy.

Am I making this more complicated than it should be? Probably. Maybe it’s crazy to be 100% gluten-free when I don’t have coeliac disease. Maybe it’s OK to abide by the 80/20 rule. Maybe I’ll just wait until my next doctor’s appointment in March when I can ask her about gluten-free Hashimoto’s. Anyway, Rome wasn’t built in a day.

How about some positives: I am still sugar free and crap food free. Yesterday we visited friends and although I drank a lot of wine, I managed to completely avoid eating any Pringles or chocolate and I am very proud. Those cravings are non-existent and I am very happy that I don’t need to be battling them. Today I am gassy and bloated [from gluten, I would think].

Maybe I am orthorexic. And I miss exercise [tomorrow!].

And one more thing: for several days I’ve been spotting in the middle of my cycle. Not just spotting, but almost like I am having a very light period. When I shouldn’t get my period for another week. WTF is this?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

