Skip to content

I am back and gluten-free.

September 7, 2014

Yes, I have been gluten-free for a week, since 1st September, I have made a couple of mistakes over the weekend, but they didn’t seem to have had any effect anyway. My biggest mistake was buying a gluten-free chocolate bar, which after several days of avoiding crap snacking awakened the Crap Snack Monster. But all is okay now. I promise I will be good. That Magnum ice cream wasn’t that great anyway, honest.
Why am I gluten-free? After my doctor upped my hormone dosage for Hashimoto’s I decided: that’s enough. I want to be taking fewer hormones, not more. I wondered if there is anything I can do about my diet. And it turns out I can do quite a bit, most definitely eliminate gluten, which according to many sources on the Internet, is NON-NEGOTIABLE. Interesting. Other things that are recommended are:

 

  • increase selenium, which is found in Brazil nuts, fish, seafood, meat, eggs, crimini mushrooms
  • reduce stress
  • watch out for environmental toxins [I will research this later]
  • increase vitamin D [I am already supplementing]
  • increase probiotics [sugar-free natural and Greek yoghurts, pickles]
  • increase omega-3 fatty acids [fish, seafood, walnuts, flaxseed]
  • decrease omega-6 fatty acids [all vegetable oils except for olive oil]
  • potentially go grain-free

 

In my research I came across many websites which advocate Paleo or Primal diet, or way of living I should say. I have to say this lifestyle is very convincing – so much, in fact, that I started eating meat. I have not eaten meat for 15 years. I am still eating grains and legumes, mostly because I have cupboards full of the stuff and I hate to waste food. My plan is to finish the grains and legumes by 1st October, or possibly sooner.

My exercise regime has changed a bit too, but more about that in the next post. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

