Skip to content

May 30, 2014

 

In a few days I will be undergoing an elimination diet to rule out any food sensitivities. I will not eat gluten, dairy, soy and potentially eggs and alcohol for 3 weeks, then slowly reintroduce them.

2 weeks ago I ran my first 10k race. I have been plagued by leg and glute injuries, I feel fatigued a lot of the time. I eat too much and too often. I want to do 24-hour fasts once a week but cannot sustain them. I am irritable, crave sugar, salt and alcohol in the evenings and generally feel annoyed with myself for being, well, human.

So after the race I had a couple days rest, then resumed running, cycling and strength training – until exactly a week later, on a overcast, drizzly Sunday, my body just refused to do what I was telling it to do. I jogged/walked the route I wanted to run. My thigh and glute injury was acting up. My ankles, left shoulder, left side of my neck, all hurt. I had side stitches. I went back home, only to realise that I’d felt this tired after my very first run about 5 months ago.

For the next couple of days I gave my aching joints and injuries a break. Even my arms hurt – biceps, forearms, and wrists – which I attributed to a first-time kettlebell workout from a few days ago [assuming delayed soreness].

I did some research and came to the conclusion I need to take a closer look at what, how and when I ate and drank. I have Hashimoto’s, an autoimmune disease affecting my thyroid function, and realised that I might be more susceptible to gluten sensitivity and rheumatoid arthritis. I bought a cookbook, ‘It’s All Good’ by Gwyneth Paltrow and Julia Turshen. I am currently reading through it, planning, writing lists and in a few days I will say goodbye to a few things that could potentially be making me feel worse.

I take medication for Hashimoto’s, as well as prescribed vitamin D3 and iron, which levels are apparently affected by the disease. I wonder if improving my diet will reduce the need for supplements. I hate taking pills. [I even hate taking contraceptives. If there was the option of removing my uterus tomorrow I’d take it.]

So in these last few days I am filling up on bread, pasta, booze, eggs and dairy. Hopefully I will be done by Sunday 1st June [have to finish off that stinky Brie no one else will eat – yum], or by Monday or Tuesday at the very latest. But 1st June is a good time to start.

As I write this I have a horribly stiff and painful neck and shoulder. I am very curious if in a few weeks I will be reporting on less fatigue, less joint and muscle discomfort, maybe less gassiness and bloating which I’ve had for as long as I can remember. Maybe I’ll stop catching so many colds. I feel irritated that as someone who is 31 years old and eats plenty of vegetables, fruit, wholegrains, healthy fats, fish and alcohol in moderation, and runs, cycles and does strength training several times a week [not to mention looking after 3.5-year-old twins] I have so many ailments I could start calling myself old in more ways than one.

I have read about eliminating caffeine and nightshades, but I don’t think that is necessary. I’m not even sure I won’t have a drink or two at the weekends. I am very curious what these next weeks will bring..

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

